vTiger CRM incorporates a sophisticated role management and security system. Each user is assigned a user name with an associated ‘role’. The role determines the hierarchy of personnel within the organization and each ‘role’ is assigned to a ‘profile’.
The profile controls what a user can see or do within vTiger. It control whether a user can edit or create, view or delete. I can do this at both module and record level.
To access and update a ‘Profile’, go to Settings/Profiles; from where you can create a New Profile or edit an existing profile. You’ll see that it presents a table listing all of the available Modules. From here you can Rename a Profile or Edit a Profile.
Editing a Profile presents all of the Modules with options, by checking or unchecking the checkboxes, to make the module available and content editable, viewable or deletable. By clicking on the individual module Expand/Collapse buttons, you can make Fields available or unavailable. So for example, if you were including personal information such as Social Security Numbers that should only be available to certain personnel, you can remove the SSN field from all other Profiles by simple unchecking that field. Editing the Module also allows or disallows certain tools such as importing and exporting records to and from that Module as well as merging and deduplicating.
The vTiger CRM roles and profiles management options insure that every user of the system only sees what they are supposed to see and do what they are supposed to do.